Scholars reach last 16 of National Trophy


A massive congratulations to our Ursuline SEFA Scholars who have made the last 16 of the English National Schools Trophy.



The Ursuline boys beat Bede’s School, of Hailsham, Sussex, to reach the next round. The Scholars will face an away day at Harefield Academy (Hertforshire) or Glyn School (Surrey) for a place in the quarter finals.


Goals either side of half time from Mark Robinson and Mitchell Laing gave Ursuline the win, with a late penalty from Bede’s not enough to take the game to extra time.


“This was an absolutely fantastic result for not only for Ursuline but for the players themselves” said Head Coach Simon Beard.


“The lads battled for ninety minutes and deserve all the plaudits they are currently getting.


“Bede’s School were well organised and made it a good contest but it was the passion, desire and quality of football that came through in the end.


“It was a totally dominant and disciplined performance and I can’t describe how proud I am of what the lads have achieved so far this season.”


URSULINE STARTING XI: Ryan Miles, Ziggy Awonusi, Niall Salisbury, Lewis Stevens, Jack Penny, Zach Sharpe, Adam Turton, Mitchell Laing, Jake Munday, Charlie Loveday, Mark Robinson. SUBSTITUTES: Ryan Coleman, Sonny Drummond, Josh Neaves, Vinnie Jones, Munashe Sithole.